Change

 

 

Progress is impossible without change, and those who can not change their minds can not change anything.

 

George Bernard Shaw, 

 

change sign jpg

 

Change……. what does it mean? At a basic level it is something that has altered into a new state. But in our lives what does it mean really, what impact does it have on us and what can we expect from it?

I have had some significant change over the past 3 months. I haven’t posted as I required the time to understand what has happened, realize its new state and understand the impact it now has on my life both long and short term. In the past 3 months I have had to say goodbye to my Grandfather. He had been battling illness for a few years and it finally got the better of him. I have also changed my place of work, not by choice but by redundancy. I had worked at this place for 8 years and had made many friends, progressed through the company ranks and learned. It was where I went from a boy to a man mentally, however I am sure my wife would think I am still a boy from time to time.

Image of young pretty woman changing reality
Image of young pretty woman changing reality

The impact that both of these situations have had on my life have been dramatic and have affected all areas of my life from family to work. It made me angry at 1st that my Grandfather was going to be taken away from us. In my quest for enlightenment I have taken a step back because of it. After anger I was obviously upset that I would not see him again. But then I remembered all the things he taught me when I was growing up. All the times we played games and special moments we shared. I wasn’t angry or upset anymore. I was empowered and encouraged by his spirit. My Grandfather was a very hard worker and always instilled this ethic in all his Grandchildren. I have tried to ensure that family has been looked after over the holiday season  and that his spirit will be embraced.

Innovate-and-Change

My Career took a nose dive too. One minute  I was working away on some statistics and organizing the afternoon shift and the next minute I was listening to the HR representative letting me down gently about how the company isn’t doing as well as it should be etc. It was a shock to say the least. But what do you do? As I was there for such a long time I was scared to leave. I didn’t know what my role was like in other companies and if I could succeed there or not. In one word  I was COMFORTABLE. I am still going through this issue and have not finished with it yet. I will enter another post later to catch up on this one.

Change is a natural part of life. everything in nature evolves to continue to survive and flourish. When this process ceases it is because the life force has gone. This is true whether you are alive or dead. You can walk around not living, wasting life. Adapt to change, make it your no1 rule. Expect the unexpected and do your best to see it coming.

 

Takanoha1


Leave a comment